Picture
As you can tell by the picture; my daily activity did not include the gym.  I spent 5 hours outside in 3-4 inches of snow paintballing at Camp Dakota in Scotts Mills, Oregon ( www.campdakota.com ). 

 I must say today was intense and I didn't know how many calories you burn in paintball, so I Googled it.  What I found is you burn 7 calories per min and 420 calories a hour.  Paintball is a high-intensity sports with tremendous  physical activity, especially when played outdoors.   Today’s event can now allow me to say I have actually played paintball in the snow.  First for me and I’m glad I could of shared it with friends and loved ones.

 I stayed hydrated and ate healthy nearly every two hours.  There were lots of hills, getting down on the ground, getting up off the ground and sprinting from one position to the next.  It was exhausting at times but so much fun. 

 I must stop and realize that I haven’t gone paintballing since last June and today seemed a bit easier and less intrusive on my cardio output.  I guess that’s a sign that I’m showing some good improvements in performance and that all my hard work in the gym is actually paying off.  Great News!

My journey to good health has to be fun and worth doing day in and day out.  So as most athlete’s or fitness buffs do, they find alternative fitness ideas that allow them to change things up from the daily grind in the gym.  Today, I chose paintball.  Paintballing with my sons and friends is great in so many ways.  It allows me the opportunity to spend quality time with my boys and at the same time reap the rewards of being in nature.  I just really enjoy outdoor activities like paintball that allow me to push myself beyond my normal limits and enjoy a needed change in my exercise routine.

I want to increase my participation in competitive events that challenge me physically, mentally and yes even emotionally.  Today was a really good day, and thank you to Shannon for providing us such a wonderful dinner upon our arrival.  Shannon it was a delicious dinner and it hit the spot.  Mmmmm

 

 

 






Leave a Reply.