Picture
Staying focused  has been a huge pimple on my butt.  I know that some of us have it together and are organized and so emotionally balanced that small daily distraction doesn’t compromise their daily goals; well I'm not one of them.  I'm not making any excuses just logging my journey to better health.  I'm documenting my emotions as much as my actions and works.
I've been struggling the past few days to stay focused long enough to write my Log Entry, but I have been consumed  with the kids being home due to the snow closure on Thursday and a sick kid home on Friday.  I haven't had a clear thought till now.
  
Friday 2-25-11 I went to the gym did a moderate but intense leg workout.  My knee is feeling better, thanks to my consistent knee therapy exercises and stretches.  I’m trying to hold back on the heavier weights and push myself on increased reps.  I did an additional 20 mins on the not so fun stationary bike and 10 mins on the Stairmaster.  I got sidetracked with something that I needed to take care of at home with my sick son, but I mustered up the energy about an hour later and returned to the gym.  When returning to the gym I started with a light warm-up and did 15 mins on the stationary bike, 15 mins on the Stairmaster and 45mins on the treadmill.  Since I’m not in running form just yet, I brisk walked at 3.8 speed on an alternating course from1-8 degree incline.  Every 10 mins I would pause the treadmill and drop and do 40 pushups.  The pushups really helped me increase my heart rate and burn more fat.

 Our friend Ginny from the gym told me that I would find my limitations with my knee and figure out a way to compromise and challenge my workouts.  Well I just did! 

 Today 2-26-11 I did an intense but shorter shoulder workout and no cardio. I really felt the burn and have really enjoyed the changes that Shannon and I are making in the gym.  I must say to the world that Shannon has been a great inspiration to me and she has accomplished so much in the gym.  Starting in the gym Shannon was new to all the features of the gym and had never lifted weights in her life.  Now if you would see her workout, she’s a beast.  Love you Shannon and thank you for being the best workout partner and keeping me focused on my goals.






Shanon
2/27/2011 01:44:32 am

Thank you for the sweet comments Tom. I have really enjoyed our journey together and look forward to benefiting from the fruits our labors! Love you very much!

Reply



Leave a Reply.