Picture
So it’s Sunday and this is my first Good Health Log Entry.  Today I’m taking advantage of a needed day of rest from the gym.  The truth is I have been terrible the past year at staying consistent in the gym or merely maintaining an active lifestyle.   I can contribute my slow gains and lack of fat loss to my inconsistency in the gym and finding creative active events to help me burn fat.  Ok my diet hasn’t been story book either, but I’m still searching for that compromise that allows me to still enjoy good food.  I can say though I haven’t eaten any sort of fast food in the past 6 weeks.  It’s a start; I’ll be positive and commend myself on a job well done.  It’s all about the small triumph’s that allows you the opportunity to a big reward.

I must admit that having a workout partner as dedicated to the gym as I have made my workouts not only enjoyable but much easier to bear.  Thank you Shannon!   Plus, the healthy competition is good for the soul.  Key word here is Healthy.  Competition is good only when winning isn’t everything?  Winning is good and important, but it should never control your self esteem or make you do things that make you look like an ass.  I look forward to doing more research on this topic later and improving my ability to better sportsmanship.

Since I’m not in the gym today and most of my time is being spent sitting on the couch watching the Daytona 500, I feel that it’s important that I reduce my caloric intake tremendously.  I do need to maintain my protein intake and keep hydrated, but I don’t need the extra carbohydrates that will only make me fat.  I really wish I had the fat ass problem, if you know me I only have “tops of legs” no ass.  Why can’t my fat pool in my posterior?

My workouts have been going great, and it’s been pleasant that Shannon has been so open to trying new workouts that I’ve mostly found on http://military-fitness.military.com/ .   In my opinion military workouts do much more than just build vanity muscles, but actually provides overall muscle fitness and good health.  I just know that it’s important to build ligaments, tendons, slow and fast muscle fibers, overall strength, joint health and endurance to be truly healthy.

Ok this journey hasn’t started out totally pain-free.  Actually, I recently have been suffering from moderate aching knee pain.   It all started when I started to increase my intensity on the treadmill.  The truth is I have been struggling with this knee irritation for some time, but usually the pain goes away in a few days.  Not so lucky this time.  So I have vowed to my wife that I will call our loyal and trusted chiropractor http://www.bfchiropractic.com/  Dr. Ryan Nienaber of Boones Ferry Chiropractic- for his profession opinion on the possible damage.

I haven’t called yet but when I do I will update my log with  his assessment.   So till then I have vowed to do my knee recovery exercises that I found on http://www.sportsinjuryclinic.net/ and limit all knee bending exercises for 6 weeks.  This sucks but I’m tired of the being a reoccurring injury.  Just need to heal it properly so I can stop allowing life to happen.

So now I’m off to get something healthy to eat and burn some fat cleaning the house.  Good Day!





Leave a Reply.