Picture
Today's shoulder workout was FANTASTIC!  I achieved the ultimate burn and muscle failure that I've been seeking for sometime.  I realized today that my progression has been slow and slightly frustrating.  As I check stock within myself and my workouts;  it's become clear that I'm making greater gains then I lead myself to believe.

Knowing that YOU are your worst enemy and your worst critic; it makes it hard to look at yourself in the mirror and see positive results.  The Journey to good health and fitness is much more then your vain view when you lurk upon yourself in the mirror. It's about getting a better understanding of yourself physically, mentally and emotionally.  It's much easier to see the physically improvements and much harder to be aware of the mental and emotional improvements you've made.  The fact is without the mental and emotional improvements you wouldn't have the physical improvements.

I have come along way since my Fitness Journey began and I have to honor my successes and realize that I'm exactly where I wanted to be.  I have finally got to the point in my journey that I can say I'm reasonably pain free and can challenge my body 5-6 days a week without 2-3 days of rest in between.  My body is responding to the increased intense interval training, and I ache each and everyday for my next workout.  Yes I've become an addict of the gym and the emotional spike I get from pushing my body to the limit.

In the past few weeks I have changed my workouts considerably.  My workouts now include daily interval cardio training and each muscle group is pushed to failure by decreasing rest time between sets and alternating upper and lower body exercises.  This spikes my heart rate increasing my overall fat burn.

My food intake has been consistent and reasonably strict.  I'm providing my body a sufficient amounts of protein and good fats and carbs.  Yes, I do eat artisan style breads more often then I should, but I'm learning the importance of portion size and moderation.  I happily can say I haven't eaten fast food in sometime and feel confident that I won't; till I reach my goal weight.  I do reward myself with good food, but I believe I'm doing well not over indulging or splurging out of control.

I have an unhealthy size appetite and have been using high amount of fiber supplements to help control my portion sizes.  Food isn't an enemy, food is my friend and I will find a way to enjoy my diverse pallet without the need of guilt.

I'm looking forward to my upcoming progression picture on the 11th of April and confidently know that my results will show.  I'm building more muscle, my skin has loosened considerably the past few weeks; so I have to be losing more fat.  My strength in my workouts are increasing, my cardio isn't as tedious, and I need half the time to recover from a hard workout.  I'm really excited to see how many inches I've lost around my waist and to do another inventory of myself so I can move swiftly into the next phase of my fitness journey.

I want to thank Shannon for the love and support I get from her everyday, allowing me to push harder and longer at the gym. If it wasn't for Shannon I wouldn't be where I am today in my fitness journey.  Men will be men (I suppose), but one thing I want to change for myself is to show and express my appreciation for what Shannon does for our family each and everyday.  Thank You!

My warrior dash training is part of my fitness journey, but I realized I was on the wrong path and needed to make critical changes to my regime to allow my bodies joints and connective tissues to catchup before I continue to abuse myself with high endurance training.  I figured it was more important to build a foundation for my house to sit on before I put the roof on.  Put the horse before the cart kind of theory.

Tom Barbee



Leave a Reply.