Picture

Picture found via google and http://www.cutesexyfunnyawful.com/

Today was an amazing day in the gym.  I'm really starting to find my stride with pushing my strength training and cardio workouts to the next level.  I began my workout with a mile warm up on the treadmill and a good full body stretch.  I evolved my back workout, starting with:

 5 sets of pull up/chin ups each set too failure.
 5 sets of close grip pull downs 20,15,10,5 reps (Increasing weight by 10 pounds each set)
 5 sets of wide grip cable rows  20,15,10,5 reps (Increasing weight by 10 pounds each set)
 Wide grip pull ups/chin ups to failure ( 4 secs up 4 secs down)
 5 sets of left sided cable wood chops 20,15,10,5 reps (Increasing weight by 5 pounds each set)
 5 sets of right sided cable wood chops 20,15,10,5 reps (Increasing weight by 5 pounds each set)
 5 sets of machine seated lower back extensions  20,15,10,5 reps ( Increasing weight by 10 pounds each set)

 1.5 miles on the stairmaster or about 20 mins ( Alternating speed with skip step lunges)
 2.5 miles Interval treadmill training. 90% running for 1/4 mile and alternating 1/4 mile at 60%

During my strength training workouts I have been only limiting my rest period to no more than 30 secs to keep up my heart rate and burn as much fat as possible.  

Listening to music on my phones MP3 player really helps push me through those not so fun periods on the treadmill, not to mention helps keep your mind off any aches and pains that might discourage your workout.  Another great fitness motivator for me was making the commitment to share my fitness journey online.  This put me out of my comfort zone and has challenged my senses ever since.  My motivation comes from knowing that others will hold me accountable and no excuse will be an honorable one.

So, the suns out and the weather is so inviting to get healthy and burn so damn fat.  I encourage everyone to help another on their fitness journey.  Start by encouraging others to get outdoors and be active.  It's so rewarding to help others while helping yourself become a better you.  

My wife Shannon had mentioned to me about a diet plan she read while waiting for her Chiropractic appointment.  It's by Dr. Oz and it's called the One-Day Diet.  Intrigued, I searched it online and the wonderful thing about this diet it's takes you back to the basics of weight loss and explains that losing weight and gaining better health is quite simple on the nutritional side of things.  I was really impressed with the one-day theory that you start each day with a goal.  Daily goals in my opinion is genius and provides a guilt free diet that keeps you motivated and less frustrated.

If your anything like me; you fall off the food wagon from time to time and indulge in the tasty treats that your mouth and taste buds just can't go without.  We don't all have the will power and ambition as body builders and the fitness elite to sacrifice certain foods or have the mental will power to overcome the guilt.  

The One-Day diet allows us to cheat from time to time and start over the next day.  No need for three hail marys to rid of the guilty pleasures.  Working towards good health and over all fitness is easier when your not dealing with negative emotions that cause us to fall into guilty eating and poor diet choices.

Give the diet a look and please note this is a short read like just a couple pages.  Please let me know if you try this diet and how it has worked for you.  One day at a time is a goal for my people lives, so why not try it with your fitness and diet.

                      The ONE-DAY DIET by Dr. Oz




Leave a Reply.