So today I started writing this Fitness Journal with inspiring thoughts on ways to motivate others to dig deeper to find the strength they need to battle through too the next stage in their fitness journey.  Hep you guessed it I don't have the brain power to be so wise this evening.  So all I can do is share my story with you in hopes that it might ignite some desire that will over power the burden of procrastination that we all have to face in society today.

It's April 11th, 2011 and I believe I'm not exactly where I was hoping to be in my fitness journey.  I've had to overcome some mild injuries that caused me frustrating set backs, but this is not my excuse for not reaching the overly ambitious goals I set for myself..  Actually my excuse is lack of knowledge.  My journey started with my head filled with knowledge of fitness practices that i've read online or in a magazine.  The knowledge I'm talking about is the knowledge of trial and error.  Doing the work that either provides you with results or doesn't.

Gathering knowledge in fitness is finding out what works for you and your body.  The knowledge you gain from failing is just as important as the knowledge you gain from success.  We all must fail and we don't then were not trying hard enough.  With success comes failure and we all need to find the balance in our lives so we can embrace failure and learn from those mistakes. The workouts that work for me today, most likely will not work for me in a week from now.  My fitness goals are evolving continuously.

I realized today that I'm ready for the next step and I'm ready to be more prepared before my workouts.  Preparation is keep to my success in the gym and at home.  Finding alternative workouts to maximize each and every workout is key for me.  I'm feeling healthier and a little more lean;  I now just need to stay consistent to reap my reward.

I'm still pushing every muscle group to failure and I have stepped up my cardio another notch.  I haven't yet hit the point that I can claim myself a success yet, but I'm getting real close.  I've lost needed inches of fat and now I'm really starting to feel the difference. 

It's time for me to make smaller, shorter term goals.  Like, one day at a time kinda goals.  I need to start making my goals each morning and when I accomplish that goal, I will celebrate that success and not get burden and frustrated by failing for longer periods of time.  

I'm driven and my two hour workouts each day are proof of that.  Now I just need to make those two hours more efficient to my fat loss goals.

Tom Barbee



Leave a Reply.