Picture
I have small goals and large goals, I have short-term and long-term goals that need to be defined.  My ultimate goal is too be in good physical health so I can live a long and prosperous life without the battle of nagging ailments.  The picture above shows an older man that obviously has mad the choice in life to put his health and fitness first, as for the girl; well she's just sexy as hell (enough said).

Muscles are what really defines what we are capable of doing and how we feel as we age.  Muscle building has become more and more popular, due too the valued benefits that resistant training provides.  Resistant training or weight lifting provides the body support, balance and form.  Weight lifting offers the mother of five much more than just a sculpted body; it provides her confidence, boosted self-esteem, sex appeal and sufficiently supported core and joints to allow her to run, jump and play endlessly with her kids. 

I have come to realize that working out is just as important emotionally as it is physically.  Building the needed muscle to allow us to strive forward without limited injuries is no longer optional, but a necessary element to overall health and fitness.

My goals start with the drive to be sexy in my own skin.  Does it mean to look like the people above?  Of course not!  Fitness and self-esteem go hand in hand. But, if that's the result I'll get from making good fitness choices; well then I can live with that.  I can't speak for what teenagers may think ( Cause frankly they are so damn confusing and change daily).  What I'm referring too here is how the average adult does with self-esteem and fitness.  Clearly my only research has been observation in the gym and in our community, but it's clear that on average most adults young and old don't live a healthy lifestyle, both physically and emotionally.  We live with fear, doubt and bitterness.

So unfortunately this trait spills over to how our kids choose to view themselves.  NOT GOOD!

So, my goal is to be healthy physically and emotionally sexy.  

My fitness progressions are slow, but I feel I'm doing it properly and good things take time.  I have been victim to fad diets and false information that has promised me grand rewards.  I must challenge myself to do it the only way proven to work, and that's to do it the hard way.  

I'm proud of my accomplishments too date, but I know I have room for improvement.  But I also know that having a positive attitude about my fitness is much more important than a quick muscle gain or fat loss.  Sure, I wanted the perfect body yesterday, but it's very important to me to do things right so I can reap the rewards of a sexier me.

I'm sure some would claim that being sexier has nothing to do with why they're so physically active or as to why they choose to eat like they do.  Healthy eating isn't always fun.  Healthy eating is expensive, time consuming and doesn't always taste good.  

So being sexier in your own skin requires time away from family, it requires a huge commitment of time and money, and it requires serious discipline.  We all want our cake and eat it too, but the reality is were not willing to make a sacrifice to get it.  Some do and look at them, they're the ones that people get aroused over at the beach, their the ones that provide motivation without speaking.  Our kids also look too us as role models and we need to be a positive influence on their futures, body image, and self-esteem.  By making the sacrifice to go to the gym 5-6 days a week will offer a greater return with your family then watching TV.  You have the time really you do.  Fit it into your schedule, it's the matter of life and death.  Your health is more important as a grand parent then it is now. Take the time for yourself to create happiness in your home and with yourself, with your spouse and love life.  

As perfect as we all wish to be we let life happen and when it does shit happens.

Building muscle has been tainted for the meat-head or the gym rat.  Well think again people cause all the sexy fitness folk I know are neither of these things.  Everyone should be lifting weights to help improve their overall health and ability to live a longer and stronger life.  Weight barring exercises offer an unlimited amount of benefits to the body, male or female.

Sorry I ranted a bit their, but hopefully you now see where I'm at in my fitness journey.  The past few weeks have been challenging in so many ways.  My resistance training was in need of a major tuning, my cardio was weak and not providing me any rewards, my eating was unbalanced and provided me unforgiving results.

I finished this last week with a new look on my fitness and the goals I have set for myself.  I have worked every muscle separately and  took my muscles to failure each and every time.  My cardio involved interval training of short hard paced bursts with moderate short recovery periods.  My eating has been on track and I'm ensuring my body the needed protein and nutrition to grow and burn fat. I'm getting the needed rest between each muscles group to prevent over-training, but I'm not getting the needed sleep to allow myself to grow.  Not enough sleep results in your muscles not recovering and in fact you still might be over-training.

I'm going to work hard this week to get in my 8 hours so I can benefit from the labor I'm providing in the gym.  I'm sure I'm not alone with the  frustration, to do the work and not get the results. 

It's been a good week for my fitness and I'm looking forward to weighing in on the 11th for my April Progression picture.  Good luck to everyone who is battling the chore of gaining a sexier you.  

Tom Barbee





Leave a Reply.