Picture
My hardest challenge is obvious and right in front of my face.  Food!  I have done better in the past few months cutting out fast food and putting healthier options on my plate, but the problem lies within my need for flavor and variety. 

I have inspirations in my life that makes eating for fitness, just so damn easy.  I know what needs to be done, but again I can’t say no to the extra slice (slices) of pizza or the homemade berry pie.   The good news is I’ve made improvements and I look forward to celebrating my successes.  I will continue to eat better, cut more bad things out of my diet and ensure my body is getting the proper nutrition it needs to operate at the excelled rate I hope it will.  I have to challenge myself but I can’t deprive myself just yet.  I have the will power, but for now I will compliment myself for staying consistent and reward myself for completion of one of my short-term goals.

Dieting is such a nasty word.  I mean really why the hell does this simply word have so much power over good intentioned people.  The word Dieting just makes people self destruct and binge on food made from shit.  I have never been the health nut that is grossed out by someone eating a hamburger from McDonalds but why does it have to be the tasteless salad that falsely promises heavenly rewards.

Food is not your enemy, a guilty pleasure or something that should lower your self-respect.  Food entices your senses; it creates a spark of romance between two people, and allows our bodies to fight illness and disease.  Food is my friend and I will not turn my back on it.  I just need to have higher regard for myself and choose foods that will encourage my body to be the best it can be.  It’s up to me to think of food as a blessing and not let society challenge my beliefs.

We have all heard it before, that’s it’s all about moderation.  I know it to be true that the trick of eating right is to offer your body a balance of nutrition to optimize my bodies output.  A balance of fat, protein, and carbs.  Small changes to your intake make drastic results.  The smaller the change the longer it takes to get the results, but remember you’re getting results.

No FAD diets, they have just been proven to not work for a prolonged time.  You lose the weight and gain the weight; you lose fat and loose muscle.  I want to be healthy and healthy is a lifestyle.  You can’t create a lifestyle of health by quick diets that promise you nothing but short-term results.  We all have to suck it up and do the work.  What works?  Balance, a good attitude and chewing is what works.  Chew your damn food and slow down while doing it.  I suck at this; I eat as though someone is going to steal my food.  NO BUENO!

I love good food and you should too.  I can eat more, just with better foods like vegetables, higher fiber foods, and healthy fat foods.  I do and will continue to reward myself with guilt free foods that most health nuts would cringe over,  but I know I’m in control and allowing me these simple pleasures once in awhile is my reminder that what I’m missing sometimes isn’t that good. 

I’m doing my work in and out of the gym.  I’ve increased my activity 10 fold and I’m proud of the direction and success I’m making.  I have a purpose and a goal to better my health and not just my vanity.  I will be the healthy, athletic father I yearn to be.  I will gain more and more knowledge along the way, but for now I can say I’m living.  Can you?






Leave a Reply.